Peeling Paint

Behind the White Coat

IMG_9305
“Ma’am, I am calling about your test results. Do you have a few minutes to talk?” I could hear the kids, I knew each of them, talking and shouting in the background. She must be on her way home from picking up the kids at school.

“Sure! Go ahead.” She sounded happy.

Not for long…

I took a deep breath.

“You have an STD.” What a stupid, crappy thing to have to say to someone, particularly at the start of a brand new year.

“A what? That can’t be possible!”

One of the best things about being a family practice physician is getting to care for entire families and in fact, I had been seeing this family for several years: husband, wife, and all of their kids.

Sometimes knowing the whole family is a liability.

I knew when I saw the frothy vaginal discharge on her exam what it was…

View original post 218 more words

2 comments

Leave a Reply

