Luck

It's All My Mother's Fault

“You are so lucky”

I did not hear these words often when I was young. I didn’t have nice clothes. I didn’t live in a fancy house. My parents were divorced. I didn’t do exceptionally well in school. I wasn’t on any school teams and I certainly was not a star athlete. Interestingly no one said “you are so unlucky” either.

I became aware of the phrase during my 20s, when I was out on my own experiencing some success in my career. I traveled all over North American for work and often upon learning this people would tell me I was lucky. That was a certain reveal that these were people who didn’t travel for work. Those who did so themselves never thought I was lucky.

After I had worked for many years, waited for a while to get married (when I was single I didn’t hear much about…

View original post 672 more words

Leave a Reply

